Back to Home

God & Science Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | God and Science | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
Islam And Science

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics
Posted by Nahla Ghoneim on June 29, 2003 11:51:18 UTC

Hi! This is my first day in the forum. I’m a Muslim Egyptian girl and I’ve taken interest in astronomy since I was a child, though not a serious one. I’m a computer engineering student. From what I’ve seen, I think the forum needs an unbiased honest look at Islam, because -honestly- there’s much more to it than (from what I see) most of you know. I’ll talk about Islam & Science.

The information you got in this forum before that in Islam “research in condemned and philosophic discourse is ill advised” is absolutely not true. The main source of Islamic teachings is our holy book the Quran, and prophet Mohammed’s sayings, which are separate and distinct. The Quran was revealed to the prophet by God. So let’s see what the two have to say about Science:
* “Read! In the Name of your Lord, Who has created (all that exists) “ (The first revealed verse. The Quran: ‘The clot‘ Chapter, verse 1)
* “Say: Travel in the land and see how creation started…” (Quran: ‘The Spider’ Ch., verse 20)
* “Say: Are those who know equal to those who know not? It is only men of understanding who will remember (i.e. get a lesson from Allâh's Signs and Verses). “(Quran ‘The throngs’ Ch., verse 9)
* The grace of a knowing man over a (only) worshiping one is like that of the full moon over other planets.
The time Muslims were at the peak of human knowledge was the time they were better Muslims, more attached to their religion’s teachings.