Back to Home

God & Science Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | God and Science | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
Applause!!!

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics | In Response To
Posted by Paul R. Martin on September 25, 2003 19:07:13 UTC

Hi Harv,

That was a great post. Thank you for putting the work into composing it. I can see that you have been paying attention.

You have described my beliefs very accurately. As you know, I am not very good with 'isms', so I can't argue too much with your classification of me, but I will take some minor exceptions.

I don't think you have described Dick's beliefs as well. Dick will have to grade you on that job, not me. I will just point out that you didn't mention his notion of G.O.D. which is part of his belief system but not what I call his "Theorem". You also mentioned the subconscious, but I'm not sure you captured the role it plays in Dick's belief system.

As for the relationship between Dick and me, you can be forgiven for not getting that exactly right because you don't have much to go on. But I'll give you credit for getting parts of it pretty close.

For the record, and for other readers, I'll correct some of what you said to bring it a little closer to the truth. I'll also do what I can to clear up what seems to be a little bewilderment on your part. But, on the whole, what you said about me is pretty accurate and I thank you for taking the time to write it up. Let me start with some of your bewilderment:

"I find it strange that Paul is a theist and that Dick is an atheist"

I find it strange that you find it strange, since it was you who assigned those 'isms' to us.