Back to Home

Meade Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | Meade Equipment Discussion | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
Which To Buy...LX90 Or LX200?

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics
Posted by Forrest Egan on March 5, 2002 00:36:07 UTC

Well, I figure I have a $3,000 budget...and I'm uncertain which scope to buy.

First, I should mention I'm currently using an Orion StarMax 127mm MCT on an EQ-3 mount. I've only been doing this since Christmas...so, I'm still a newbie.

I've decided that I really enjoy this hobby and I'm ready to make a serious investment. I just don't want to get aperture fever and buy a scope so large that I'll never use it. I figure that most nights I'll still use the 5" scope and pull the 'light bucket' out on clear nights when I can spend hours observing or taking pictures.

Well, along with another brand, the 'C' word, I've narrow my choice to two Meade product lines: LX90 or LX200.

With the 8" LX90 I can save some money and probably still have all the scope I'll need for years to come. It's larger aperture and GOTO will improve my observing sessions and it's still quite portable.

With the LX200 line, I can afford the 7" MCT, 8" SCT or 10" SCT. Obviously, the 8" being the least expensive gives me some cash left over for a wedge, dew prevention and any minor accessories I might need...the 7" MCT and 10" SCT will consume my entire budget.

Also, please keep in mind, I do have some minor back problems and feel that the 10" might be more scope than I'm prepared to heft by myself...and I don't have anyone close by to help me with this stuff on short notice...so, I'm leaning toward the 8" SCT.