Back to Home

Bigbang Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | Big Bang | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
I Am A Biologist

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics | In Response To
Posted by Eric J. Andresen on May 8, 2005 07:50:58 UTC

I know about mistakes. I work in the biotech industry, and for example I used to process genomic DNA from a particular immortal cell line. The people in the cell biology department were trying to improve efficiency in supplying me greater concentrations of these cells to work with...however, when I tried to process these new batches, I was always coming up with degraded DNA. At first I thought I was contaminating these processed cells with DNase somewhere in my processing, but I had been doing this for years with great results; but then I had an idea that with these cells in greater concentrations, these batches were acting like tissues, and tissues have necrosis factors that affect nearby cells when certain cells within the tissues are injured...it is a means of tissue defense when enzymes, or other chemicals, which are spilled out of the cytoplasm due to membrane rupture could act on a cause of the injury. The cell biology department started doing batches at lower cell concentrations, and DNA processing improved on my part to yeild intact DNA. Mistakes happen and we can learn from them, and in some cases these mistakes can be enlightening and lead to something profitable...that is kind of interesting in the world of science.