Back to Home

UFO Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | UFO Discussion and Tracking | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
Distrust Of Science

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics
Posted by Mario Dovalina on July 18, 2001 03:55:35 UTC

What I find interesting about many of the UFO believers here is a nearly universal distrust of science. Not just our practice of science, mind you, but a seeming suspicion of the empirical method of thought. It's fascinating how many people here believe in titanic Martian smokestacks, a subterranian Martian civilization, etc. I'm new in this specific forum (I spend 95% of my time in God&Science) so I haven't seen any proof of these claims, if you have photos, post them. But in the meantime I'll tell you what I think.

Let's assume for the sake of argument that large, odd structures DO exist on Mars. First, there are some pretty weird structures on earth, too, a top-down, low-res view means nothing until a manned expedition is sent. Second, assuming it DID have an intelligent origin (which is unconvincing and jumping to conclusions) how in the world to you come to the opinion that there is a vast underground civilization under the surface, that it still exists, that it routinely flies ships to earth for centuries for some unknown reason, that it has never revealed itself for some unknown reason, and so on.

Why, in all of documented history, have UFO abductees been continuously the most lonely attention seekers? Coincidence? Or maybe it's the aliens covering up their presence by fooling us!