Back to Home

Astronomy Discussion Forums

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
Observation Report From Barcelona

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics
Posted by Esteve on August 4, 2002 19:12:38 UTC

Hi everybody !

I’m not an absolute beginner practising astronomy but I’m not so experienced as some of the usual contributors to this section.
Despite this fact, I’ve decided to submit some observation reports I hope will be useful for somebody.

Date : 2002-08-03
Time : from 21:00 till 23:00 GMT

Environmental conditions :
Medium light pollution
Moon light at 0.35 (fortunately, rising later)
Seeing condition 3
Windy
Limit magnitude achieved at the zenith : 11.6 (not very much!!!)

Telescope : 203mm SCT

Yesterday, we decided to look for different kinds of objects.
At first, we located the really amazing M57 (Ring Nebula) in Lyra. We used a low magnification factor (x51) and got a nice view (really shaped). I must say we had to use the “indirect viewing method” to get the best results.

Afterwards, we spent some time watching some binary stars :
Delta & Epsilon Lyrae - We got the 4 stars working at x271 factor.
Beta Cygni (named Albireo) - We easily achieved a clear 2 stars view (with a surprising contrast : orange & blue). Getting the third star, it was a harder task. Using a x271 factor, I think we viewed it but I’m not quite sure. Perhaps it was an optic effect due to the large magnification factor and/or the atmosphere turbulences.
Epsilon Cygni - Another example of double star. We needed a x406 factor.