Back to Home

Meade Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | Meade Equipment Discussion | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
Try Not To Over-anticipate

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics | In Response To
Posted by Scott Nelson on September 28, 2003 19:48:26 UTC

Hi, I bought a 6" Meade LXD55 Refractor this summer, so I am still fairly new to astronomy, but the single best piece of advice that I can give you is to try not to have too high of expectations for what you will really see. I fell into that trap at first, and I expected to see Saturn, etc. like you see them in Sky & Telescope, Astronomy magazine, and so on. Those nice, big, colorful pictures in those magazines, however, are either hubble pictures or pictures amateur astronomers have submitted that they took using either expensive CCD cameras or digital cameras. What you will actually see through your telescope won't be nearly as dramatic as those pictures. Now I'm not trying to discourage you, and this also does not mean that you can't see some neat stuff through a telescope, because you can.

The key, really, for planetary viewing is waiting for the moments when Earth's atmosphere becomes calm, and then you can definitely see some nice surface details. The viewing conditions are different from night to night, so some nights the atmosphere is very unstable and you might not get those precious moments of clarity that you need. Planetary details, while definitely visible, don't quite jump out at you, so you kind of have to train your eyes to see them.