Back to Home

Meade Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | Meade Equipment Discussion | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
Re: LX200 Polar Alignment Advice

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics | In Response To
Posted by Daniel Johnson on October 8, 2002 12:46:43 UTC

I have no experience with the field derotator, but I chose not to buy it, even though it sounds mighty convenient--your concerns about back focus, etc., were among my reasons. Also,I sometimes do photography through a good short-tube refractor to get a wide field, and use the LX200 to guide it. At times I may choose to offset the refractor and the LX200 by a degree or two, in order to find a better guide star. I didn't know whether the field derotator would work well for that (maybe so, but I didn't want to risk it). I bought a wedge made by Ken Milburn of Bonney Lakes Astro Works( http://home1.gte.net/kmilburn/page2.html )--expensive and a long wait, but worth it.