Back to Home

God & Science Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | God and Science | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
What Buddhists Believe

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics | In Response To
Posted by Aurino Souza on April 11, 2001 19:33:29 UTC

John,

I'm not a Buddhist but I did a lot of studying on the subject. I am a serious student of psychology of religion and Buddhism is very interesting in that regard.

I cannot explain in a few lines what Buddhists believe. It's difficult for a Western mind to understand how the Eastern mind works, it can be quite puzzling, as anyone who's ever spent some time in China or Japan can attest. In any case, the main points are:

Creation of the Universe: Buddhists don't believe the reality of the senses, they believe it's all an illusion. Therefore there's nothing to explain, only things to be explained away.

Moral Law: Buddhists believe life is suffering, and suffering comes from attachment to illusions. Being in service of other people helps a person develop non-attachment to material things, freeing the "soul" from the circle of reincarnation.