Back to Home

God & Science Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | God and Science | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
Re: Everyone Should Understand Math

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics
Posted by Harvey on September 15, 2003 16:53:50 UTC

Hi Dick,

Unfortunately I cannot respond to your post directly since of the results of the 'hidden' function, but I'll respond here.

First, this whole forum is dedicated to Astronomy and, as I remember the division of fields in most universities, Astronomy is usually a specialty of physics: i.e., back when I was a student an astronomy degree required a rather significant physics background.

This is perhaps true, however my speculation is that God debates overtook the more specific astronomy issues, hence the webmaster probably created this forum as a means by which to talk specifically about God and science. I don't think this means that calculators are necessarily relevant to this sub-forum.

Second, Science in the absence of mathematics usually requires an adjective to separate it from what are commonly called the "hard" sciences: i.e., such as the social sciences etc. And even in these "special" sciences, an advanced degree usually requires enough math to understand statistics at least. So, science in the absence of mathematics seems to me to be a concept reserved for grade school level science.