Back to Home

God & Science Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | God and Science | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
To Harv!

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics
Posted by Richard D. Stafford, Ph.D. on April 28, 2003 22:32:00 UTC

Hi Harv,

It is rather strange but your note to me set me to thinking about the performance of conventional science itself.

A) Your paper has mistakes and this conclusion was arrived at hastily.

When I was a graduate student, I had a bad habit (every time I had to look up a reference) of reading all the other articles in the journal containing the referenced article (I have always like to read and, Mike, it's a lot like reading science fiction). Now, when one does that, one gets a very different impression of scientific journals than one gets if one only reads the referenced material.

If all you read is referenced material, you get the impression that scientists are very careful people and only publish well thought out ideas. That's because it is only well thought out ideas stand the test of time. If you read everything, you get a very different impression: most publications contain a great many mistakes and seem to have conclusions very hastily arrived at. A little serious thought would have shown them as worthless before they were published.

B) The paper only has equations that look like well-known physics equations, but upon closer examination the definitions of variables actually have quite different meanings.