Back to Home

God & Science Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | God and Science | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
You Might Be Missing Something

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics | In Response To
Posted by Aurino Souza on July 12, 2002 13:36:04 UTC

Hi Dick,

" Strange, I always thought I was a fairly good programmer! Maybe I am not; give me an idea of what you have on your mind! "

Well, for one thing, if you were a good programmer you would know what :-) means.

I'm not saying your conclusions are based on faulty logic, not at all. It's only that now and then you say things which don't seem to make sense when put together, like the four quotes in my previous post, but I know from experience that it's a problem of communication rather than thinking. And since what's 'communication' for me is 'thinking' for you, when the communication of an idea appears illogical it's too tempting to assume so is the thinking. Which is basically what most people do here, and that is what I was criticizing.

Basically what I'm saying is, the algorithm you have in your mind is great, except sometimes you disregard the rules of the programming language and the compiler craps out. As any good programmer knows, computers can be very stupid sometimes.

" Yes, I can see how you might think that; however, that is not the issue I have in mind. "

I think I understand the issue you have in mind, but I also think you sometimes fail to understand the issues other people have in mind. What I have in mind (what a mess!) goes along this: