Back to Home

God & Science Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | God and Science | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
Bruce: Please Show Me The Errors!

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics
Posted by Alan on May 18, 2002 06:16:01 UTC

Hi Bruce,

You seem to know physics. I am an amateur; but this conversation with Yanniru did not yet demolish what I said. I was using an English word description of Schrodinger's equation from one of Roger Penrose's books. I am aware of how there are many Schrodinger equations tailored for each situation, but am referring to the underlying pattern in them as described by Roger Penrose.

Please show me the errors. Yanniru's responses are included.

Yanniru What Is Wrong With Para. 30? (April 4, 2002)

Reposting what I posted once before: Origin of some key physics equations in "time", step by step: Admittedly very tenuous arguments sketched further on. But the ideas beyond this may be valid..........

1. What is time?

2. Everyday usage shows that "time" involves a "reference space" (length, distance). Examples: the distance travelled by the second-hand on a clock. The back-and-forth length traversed by an atom vibrating, or a quartz crystal vibration, the distance through which the Earth rotates about its axis, etc.

3. Time also involves self-reference. An oscillator such as a pendulum or vibrating atom traverses the same length back and forth. A clock-hand rotates about a point fixed to the clock-hand. In this way clocks measure themselves to allow consistent comparison of their lengths with the lengths they measure.