Back to Home

General Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | Misc. Topics | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
What Are The Names Of Stars In These Constellations?

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics
Posted by Jamie White on July 21, 2004 20:40:06 UTC

I'm a fantasy and SF writer with an interest, but alas, not an expert knowledge of astronomy. I'm looking for names (not things like "NCG488", you know, ones like "Castor" or "Pollux") of stars in the following constellations for a story I'm working on:

*Pisces. You wouldn't BELIEVE the trouble I'm having finding the names of the stars in this constellation! But all that the search engine feature turns up is stuff about NGC488... a galaxy's scientific name, not the pretty or exotic sounding "original" Greek or Latin (or whatever) name. In the story I'm working on, each character has a weapon of some kind named after a star in their respective constellation. But I can't find anything to call Pisces' weapon. o.O At all. The closest I came to finding it was The "Southern Fish" 's "Fomalhaut". Which just doesn't work for me (and besides, it's not the same constellation).

*Gemini. I'm thinking of using either Castor or Pollux (since they are THE stars that truly represent the constellation), but it'd be nice to have options other than those two. :)

*Virgo. Other than Spica, I don't know any. That's not a bad name, but again, I'd like more options. :)

*Scorpius. Though "Antares" is a pretty cool name, I just wanted some other options. :) So don't worry too much about this one, just thought I'd add it in here since the only one I know of is Antares.