Back to Home

General Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | Misc. Topics | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
Re: Speculation Re Planet Orbiting Alpha Centauri 1

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics | In Response To
Posted by daneboy1 -------- solar --storm on November 15, 1998 20:57:15 UTC

: : : : : : : : I'm a complete novice to astronomy but am interested in some "expert" opinions for some fiction I am considering writing. What I'd like to know is whether its possible that an inhabitable (by humans) planet might orbit Alpha Centauri 1 in such a way that it actually passes between Alpha Cent. 1 & Alpha Cent. 2, during its year. Is that possible and if it is, what might conditions be like on such a planet? I do not know how close together the stars of the Alpha Centauri system are to one another but I assume there is plenty of room for a planet to orbit one of them? I'm looking for feasible stuff for the imagination here. : : : : : Thanks.

: : : : No way can a planet survive in the Centauri system, : : : : there are three stars about couple hundred AU's from : : : : each other, their gravitational pulls would neither : : : : make the planet collide with a star or gain speed : : : : and escape into space. If there is a planet, it could : : : : be a gas giant like Jupiter. I suggest you use stars : : : : like 51 Pegasi or 47 Ursae Majoris, they are stars that : : : : have been proven to have planets.