Back to Home

General Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | Misc. Topics | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
Re: Speculation Re Planet Orbiting Alpha Centauri 1

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics | In Response To
Posted by Dave Patterson/">Dave Patterson on February 20, 1998 18:40:26 UTC

: : : I'm a complete novice to astronomy but am interested in some "expert" opinions for some fiction I am considering writing. What I'd like to know is whether its possible that an inhabitable (by humans) planet might orbit Alpha Centauri 1 in such a way that it actually passes between Alpha Cent. 1 & Alpha Cent. 2, during its year. Is that possible and if it is, what might conditions be like on such a planet? I do not know how close together the stars of the Alpha Centauri system are to one another but I assume there is plenty of room for a planet to orbit one of them? I'm looking for feasible stuff for the imagination here. : : : Thanks.

: : it is plausable that life can exist on a planet such as Alpha Centauri since it could because there are other types of life forms other than human. : these could be water based,silicon based,rock based,just because there is no ideas that humans could exist.doesn't stop the idea that life could exist.

Found this at the following web site:

http://imagine.gsfc.nasa.gov/docs/ask_astro/answers/970717b.html

Hope it helps

The Question

We would like to find out some information on the star, Alpha Centauri. We are 10 years old, but already have followed up a great interest in astronomy. We would especially like to know what Alpha Centauri is made of, what its measurements are and if it has any special assets.

The Answer