Back to Home

Eyepieces Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | Eyepieces | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
26 Years Of Eyepieces

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics
Posted by Jim Barnett on April 9, 2003 20:16:37 UTC

I've been an amateur astronomer for 26 years. I am a "casual but experienced visual observer." I favor the aethetic over the scientific, so my opinions are colored by this bias.

In my years of casual observing I've amassed a decent collection of affordable eyepieces, and have decided to share my notes for each with you. Several of them are no longer manufactured, but do come up from time to time second hand, so I believe this evaluation has present-day relevance.

6mm University Optics Plossl - circa 1983. Multi-coated. Made in Japan. No longer sold. Good high power ocular with too short eye relief and uncharacteristically (for a Plossl) small AFOV. There are better choices today, but back then this was an affordable alternative to very expensive Clave Plossls.

7.5mm Orion (Vixen) Lanthanum - circa 1999. Nice moderate high power eyepiece with great 20mm eye relief on a decent 50* FOV package. No longer sold. Compared to the aus Jena Ortho, the Edmund RKEs, Celestron Ultima or even Celestron Plossl, the Lanthanum is a little "mushy" and doesn't measure up in fine detail studies. That said, this is a good eyepiece for sharing your scope with novices. The long eye relief makes it easy for a beginner to get a good comfortable view.