Back to Home

Astronomy Discussion Forums

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
I Will Try To Make Myself Clearer!

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics | In Response To
Posted by Richard D. Stafford, Ph.D. on November 27, 2002 19:49:00 UTC

Hi Mike,

I am very happy to see that you did not take my post as an insult. It was meant only as an expression of my opinion; I have been around for a long time and have never met anyone who took thinking things out very seriously (at least from my perspective). You should not feel singled out at all as I have a very low opinion of the intellectual capabilities of the human race in general.

When I was a graduate student, I had the habit, every time I went to the library to look up a significant reference in a journal, of reading the entire journal volume (I have always been a rather voracious reader). As a consequence, I read a rather broad cross section of physics publications through out the history of physics; more than read by most I suspect. The single most significant lesson I learned from that experience was that 90% of those publications were completely worthless from a historic perspective. Yeh, I know, hindsight is 20/20; but that isn't the essence of my observation. The essence was that most of the publications were nothing more than regurgitation of the current status quo without the least serious thought; clearly doing little more than satisfying the academic demand for publication and having little or nothing to do with the advancement of science. I felt embarrassed for these people. Their only saving grace was that no one reads their work. It left me with a very strong distaste for pu