Back to Home

Blackholes Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | Blackholes I | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
Re: Re: Re: Regarding This Is Gre

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics | In Response To
Posted by Alexander on February 9, 2001 19:47:35 UTC

John, do not worry, no one here seriousely consider you or anyone else to be bad or something. You are nice fella, kind of productive in writing (I, for instance, can not write that fast), and have some interesting thoughts.

You know, I have some background in math and physics, but I do not qualify myself to rise and say: Einstein is wrong - I have to learn plenty just to understand how field equations work (especially in extreme cases).

Therefore, if somebody says: Einstein (Newton, Maxwell, etc.) is wrong, the first question is "Where exactly he is wrong and what facts support that in THIS particular place he is incorrect?" So, to argue about Einstein, Newton, etc, you HAVE to KNOW what they wrote.

Second point is that there are so much evidence that indeed Einstein was so right that we probably should now consider calling GR a LAW of NATURE instead of a "just theory". Clocks slow, light falls, gamma rays become "reddish" as they rize up against gravity, distances shrink, black holes are found by numbers, rotating newtron stars drag space nearby them, speed of gravity is verified to be equal to speed of light to 1% accuracy, etc.