Back to Home

ATM Forum Message

Forums: Atm · Astrophotography · Blackholes · Blackholes2 · CCD · Celestron · Domes · Education
Eyepieces · Meade · Misc. · God and Science · SETI · Software · UFO · XEphem
RSS Button

Home | Discussion Forums | Amateur Telescope Making | Post
Login

Be the first pioneers to continue the Astronomy Discussions at our new Astronomy meeting place...
The Space and Astronomy Agora
Re: Dual Mount - Is It Possible?

Forum List | Follow Ups | Post Message | Back to Thread Topics | In Response To
Posted by Brian Chipman/">Brian Chipman on March 11, 1999 19:05:44 UTC

: Hi - I've been stargazing for about 18 years, but never : really used a scope before. For Christmas I received : a 10" Meade Equatorial Mount scope. I live in the : suburbs of Philadelphia, but have a small place near : the NY border where I can go to get really dark skies. : My question is, can I somehow customize my scope so that : I can use it as a dobsonian mount when I'm in the city : and then use it on the equatorial mount when I want to : start playing with astrophotography and am able to do : some all night observing? Has anybody done this? : It's a pain to bring this thing out onto my porch for : only an hour or two of observing. I have a street : light right outside my door. I've tried a light : pollution filter, which helps some, but if it were : more portable I think I'd use it a whole lot more. : Does anyone think this is a really poor idea? Is it : feasible? Thanks for any ideas? Sonnie

Assuming your Meade is a StarFinder reflector and not a Schmidt-Cassegrain, I can think of the folowing: